The Grafton Historical Society was organized on August 2, 1962, to keep alive the memory of the sturdy men and women who turned a wilderness into a heritage of which the people of Grafton are proud, and to pass on the knowledge of that heritage to succeeding generations.
Within months of its organization the Society had bought the historic little old Post Office built in 1855, and made the necessary alterations to open it as a Museum on May 30, 1963. Hundreds of photographs of old Grafton were on display as well as old account books, tools, household articles and other memorabilia from earlier days, given by local residents and friends of the Society from as far away as California.
Over the years the little old Post Office building became too small and it became necessary to find larger quarters. On August 4, 1978 a new Museum was opened to the public just up Main Street in the third house to the west of its first home. The museum has grown so large it is considered to be the most complete pictorial record of local history in the state. Since the mining of soapstone was one of Grafton's largest industries during the last century, the comprehensive collection of soapstone artifacts in the Museum is of great importance. Many other unusual and interesting exhibits having to do with Grafton's past make the Museum unique in its concentration on local history.